Anyone using Castrol multi-import ATF?

Discuss any maintenance you've done to your Vibe & Matrix and ask how to perform maintenance on your vehicle
Chiadog

Anyone using Castrol multi-import ATF?

Post by Chiadog »

I've been a big Castrol fan ever since finding it to be the only brand of engine oil that came out of my air cooled VW bug still looking like oil, not thin like water! So i would like to switch to castrol Multi-import ATF on my "new" 2005 base Vibe. It meets T-4 and many more specs. Any input?

Also, has anyone "timed" the vibe tranny pump rate at idle engine speed? I'd like to run the engine at idle long enough to circulate 3.2 qts. between drain plug dumps! This would minimize contaminating new ATF with the old AFT. Any ideas on this plan? I have never tried this before.
thank you,
Chiadog
Salsa Guy

Re: Anyone using Castrol multi-import ATF?

Post by Salsa Guy »

Castrol makes fine products and have used their motor oils for years. However I know nothing about their tranny fluids. Most people use either AMSoil, redline or Purple on these toyota transmissions.
05 Matrix XR 4WD and 03 Vibe GT
"If you want Government to solve your problems, then you are the problem!" BMSR
Trix MODS: SRI w/ AEM filter, Vibrant/Magnaflow Cat-back, Alutec Lightweight Crank Pulley
GT MODS: Cosmo SRI, DRL, Auto Stop
djkeev

Post by djkeev »

Salsa Guy wrote:?.......... Most people use either AMSoil, redline or Purple on these toyota transmissions.
That's quite a statement! You of course have hard data to back this statement up with? I KNOW that The people in my admittedly small world of friends that run "these Toyota" transmissions are using the proper Toyota issued T IV transmission oil.