My new(ish) Vibe

Park your vehicle in a thread here - list your vehicle info, pics, etc. all in one place.
Post Reply
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Hello folks, was recommended to start a new thread for my Vibe to track progress and builds, so here it is :)

I HAD a 2000 Pathfinder that was my commuter SUV but at around 190,000 miles, the timing belt snapped and I wasn't about to waste my time replacing that belt, we all know a valve or 2 probably bent. So sold it and off it went.

Started to look for another commuter car and came across this Vibe. It is a 2007 and the original owners were selling it. They purchased it brand new in January of 2008 from a local dealer here in FL and only drove it 91,000 miles. It is a base model, 5SPD manual, no cruise control, crank windows and manual door locks...but tey opted for power mirrors which is nice. I prefer driving a stick and the crank windows doesn't really bother me. Wish the doors were power but I'll live since this was a STEAL!

Brought her home and already enjoying the ride. Since she is going to be a commuter, not looking to make her go fast but I wanted to at least add some better audio, larger wheels and maybe lower her a bit, possibly throw in a shorter throw shifter. This way she want be fast but she'll look better, handle better and have a decent audio system.

Here she shortly after I picked her up.
Attachments
00404_iGPAvA5DR6b_1200x900.jpg
00404_iGPAvA5DR6b_1200x900.jpg (78.04 KiB) Viewed 7011 times
00Z0Z_8UbrQnkWEek_1200x900.jpg
00Z0Z_8UbrQnkWEek_1200x900.jpg (130.76 KiB) Viewed 7011 times
00A0A_fowHxeRPGaf_1200x900.jpg
00A0A_fowHxeRPGaf_1200x900.jpg (149.75 KiB) Viewed 7011 times
20190908_171646_HDR(25).jpg
20190908_171646_HDR(25).jpg (328.6 KiB) Viewed 7011 times
20190908_171655_HDR(25).jpg
20190908_171655_HDR(25).jpg (356.95 KiB) Viewed 7011 times
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

First up I'm going to add some better audio to her this weekend, already got everything on order and waiting for everything to be delivered.

JVC KD-X240BT head unit
Kenwood KFC 1666S 6 1/2 speakers for front/rear doors
Kenwood KFC W12PS 12" sub
JBL GTX500 mono amp to power the sub
Attachments
JVC_KD-X240BT(10).jpg
JVC_KD-X240BT(10).jpg (16.22 KiB) Viewed 7010 times
Kenwood_KFC_1666S(10).jpg
Kenwood_KFC_1666S(10).jpg (21.52 KiB) Viewed 7010 times
JBL_GTX500(10).jpg
JBL_GTX500(10).jpg (17.09 KiB) Viewed 7010 times
Kenwood_KFC_W12PS.jpg
Kenwood_KFC_W12PS.jpg (39.4 KiB) Viewed 7010 times
Transylvania
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:21 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by Transylvania »

Again, congratulations on this fine purchase. Very much looking forward to reading all the updates you are going to do on the car. Keep us posted!
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Transylvania wrote: Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:15 pm Again, congratulations on this fine purchase. Very much looking forward to reading all the updates you are going to do on the car. Keep us posted!
Thanks again and of course I'll keep this post going, hoping to get lots of things done to her.
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Head unit is in
Attachments
20190914_171420_HDR(25).jpg
20190914_171420_HDR(25).jpg (325.97 KiB) Viewed 6990 times
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Next up, adding some power door locks and a push-button start. I don't mind the manual windows but the manual door locks are getting to be a bit annoying, so going to fix that and since I was browsing Amazon I found this low cost push start so figured why not.
Attachments
Amazon1.jpg
Amazon1.jpg (120.82 KiB) Viewed 6947 times
tpollauf
Posts: 4014
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by tpollauf »

Looks like a fun project. I did power lock/window upgrades to several cars over the past 40 years and loved the challenge. All of them turned out great and you'd never know they were added ... looked stock! Take lots of photos and share the progress here with us as you go along!
Image
2009 Vibe GT (manual), 2009 G8Gt, 2009 Vibe GT (auto)
2014 Silverado, 2004 Vibe GT

"everything is modifiable"
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

tpollauf wrote: Sat Sep 28, 2019 8:12 am Looks like a fun project. I did power lock/window upgrades to several cars over the past 40 years and loved the challenge. All of them turned out great and you'd never know they were added ... looked stock! Take lots of photos and share the progress here with us as you go along!
I just opened that back door panel to replace the outer handle (broke in my hand a week after I bought the car) and while looking in there, I don't see the rod to attach the motor to, looks like I have to do some research before I dive in to adding the power locks but I'm sure I'll figure it out.

Thanks man, I'll keep this thread updated for sure.
zbyers
Posts: 1767
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Sheffield, Pennsylvania

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by zbyers »

A member on the FB used some kit to add power locks to his Vibe, too. Not sure what kit it was; it wasn't overly difficult from what I gathered, just very time consuming.
'74 Thing, '79 El Camino, '83 VW DoKa '91 Vanagon, '03 Base, 04 GT
'06 CRV, '06 AWD, '07 Base, '12 Highlander Limited, '17 Frontier CCLB

Byerscrew Garage, GenVibe Facebook, How-To Index
Everything You Need To Know About the Pontiac Vibe
Bookworm
Posts: 764
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:21 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by Bookworm »

Just as an FYI - the black plastic (unpainted) door handles fail regularly from the sun hardening the plastic.

If you had one shatter, go ahead and think about just replacing all of them - they're not that expensive.
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Bookworm wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2019 11:24 am Just as an FYI - the black plastic (unpainted) door handles fail regularly from the sun hardening the plastic.

If you had one shatter, go ahead and think about just replacing all of them - they're not that expensive.
Yup, day after I ordered one handle I broke the front drivers side too, ordered a complete set and will replace the other 2 this week. Simple enough to replace them so might as well.
zbyers wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2019 9:17 am A member on the FB used some kit to add power locks to his Vibe, too. Not sure what kit it was; it wasn't overly difficult from what I gathered, just very time consuming.
I got the kit and from what I see its just a matter of placement for the actuators and striping the cable to attach the actuators to. Beyond that its just running wires and connecting it all.
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Finally got around to installing my system and got a set of Scion tC wheels on her.
Attachments
Bass.jpg
Bass.jpg (52.43 KiB) Viewed 6789 times
Before.jpg
Before.jpg (391.77 KiB) Viewed 6789 times
After.jpg
After.jpg (365.21 KiB) Viewed 6789 times
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Added cruise control to my Vibe today, really easy process and I know several folks have already done it. Installed the 18A009 cruise control switch and NS151 clutch switch. Everything works, cruise tested fine and horn works too :)
Attachments
20191210_125707_HDR_25.jpg
20191210_125707_HDR_25.jpg (175.51 KiB) Viewed 6727 times
20191210_125657_25.jpg
20191210_125657_25.jpg (230.51 KiB) Viewed 6727 times
zbyers
Posts: 1767
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Sheffield, Pennsylvania

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by zbyers »

Cruise control is a fabulous feature... I need to get mine working again. Doesn't bother me since my commute is stop and go... But then I jump and drive 3 hours to Pittsburgh and wish it would work lol
'74 Thing, '79 El Camino, '83 VW DoKa '91 Vanagon, '03 Base, 04 GT
'06 CRV, '06 AWD, '07 Base, '12 Highlander Limited, '17 Frontier CCLB

Byerscrew Garage, GenVibe Facebook, How-To Index
Everything You Need To Know About the Pontiac Vibe
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

zbyers wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:53 am Cruise control is a fabulous feature... I need to get mine working again. Doesn't bother me since my commute is stop and go... But then I jump and drive 3 hours to Pittsburgh and wish it would work lol
Same here, I work from home so don't drive much and/or far, but that once in a while long haul made me wish I had cruise control.
Bookworm
Posts: 764
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:21 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by Bookworm »

wagonis wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:27 am
zbyers wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:53 am Cruise control is a fabulous feature... I need to get mine working again. Doesn't bother me since my commute is stop and go... But then I jump and drive 3 hours to Pittsburgh and wish it would work lol
Same here, I work from home so don't drive much and/or far, but that once in a while long haul made me wish I had cruise control.
I think that all of my cars have had cruise control available, but even on really long drives, I rarely use it. Mostly because of other cars, but partially because it helps you keep from losing focus.
zbyers
Posts: 1767
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Sheffield, Pennsylvania

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by zbyers »

Bookworm wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:18 am
wagonis wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:27 am
zbyers wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:53 am Cruise control is a fabulous feature... I need to get mine working again. Doesn't bother me since my commute is stop and go... But then I jump and drive 3 hours to Pittsburgh and wish it would work lol
Same here, I work from home so don't drive much and/or far, but that once in a while long haul made me wish I had cruise control.
I think that all of my cars have had cruise control available, but even on really long drives, I rarely use it. Mostly because of other cars, but partially because it helps you keep from losing focus.
Newer cars have adaptive cruise control. I hear it takes a while to get used to, but I guess it's fabulous.

I've never really lost focus from using cruise control. I lose focus driving our automatic more than using the cruise control. It's just so BORING driving an automatic. :lol:
'74 Thing, '79 El Camino, '83 VW DoKa '91 Vanagon, '03 Base, 04 GT
'06 CRV, '06 AWD, '07 Base, '12 Highlander Limited, '17 Frontier CCLB

Byerscrew Garage, GenVibe Facebook, How-To Index
Everything You Need To Know About the Pontiac Vibe
tpollauf
Posts: 4014
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by tpollauf »

zbyers wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:53 am Cruise control is a fabulous feature... I need to get mine working again. Doesn't bother me since my commute is stop and go... But then I jump and drive 3 hours to Pittsburgh and wish it would work lol
Man can I relate to that. Driving 120 mile round trip with most of it being on I-75 is a journey where the cruise control would REALLY be nice if it worked! Let me know if/when you diagnose and fix yours so it may help me fix mine. My 2004 Vibe GT,s cruise was working great till mid August ... then it just quit! Light on dash comes on and that thingy under the hood looks good (inspected it mechanically) so maybe it's that module thing under the dash?
Image
2009 Vibe GT (manual), 2009 G8Gt, 2009 Vibe GT (auto)
2014 Silverado, 2004 Vibe GT

"everything is modifiable"
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

tpollauf wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 6:34 pm
zbyers wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 3:53 am Cruise control is a fabulous feature... I need to get mine working again. Doesn't bother me since my commute is stop and go... But then I jump and drive 3 hours to Pittsburgh and wish it would work lol
Man can I relate to that. Driving 120 mile round trip with most of it being on I-75 is a journey where the cruise control would REALLY be nice if it worked! Let me know if/when you diagnose and fix yours so it may help me fix mine. My 2004 Vibe GT,s cruise was working great till mid August ... then it just quit! Light on dash comes on and that thingy under the hood looks good (inspected it mechanically) so maybe it's that module thing under the dash?
I would definitely look at the clutch pedal switch, cruise control won't work without it and it's a cheap/easy enough part to replace.
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

Forgot I created a thread for my Vibe's progress...

So far I've added the power door locks and even got the rear hatch and rear window to work with the keyless remote

viewtopic.php?p=537086#p537086

Installed a Monkey Wrench Racing short throw shifter with a TRD ball
PXL_20231112_194721524.jpg
PXL_20231112_194721524.jpg (373.1 KiB) Viewed 2755 times
I removed the 12" sub I installed in favor of a more stock look. I found a used sub-box and panel from the monsoon system and installed that for bass with a Kicker sub, came out pretty nice. Also moved the amp since I no longer had the sub box where it was mounted originally:
PXL_20230813_165048851.jpg
PXL_20230813_165048851.jpg (564.79 KiB) Viewed 2755 times
Now after all that audio work, I decided to redo most of the audio system :roll:

Replacing all 4 door speakers from the Kenwood KFC-1666S and going with the Kenwood KFC-1696PS for better bass and clarity, swapping amps from the JBL Mono amp to the MB-Quartz RA1-710.5 5 channel amp and replacing the head unit from the JVC unit to this Boss Audio 7" Android Auto unit and finally adding front and rear mounted cameras to work with the head unit.
71d1feh-M0L._AC_SL1500_.jpg
71d1feh-M0L._AC_SL1500_.jpg (323.61 KiB) Viewed 2755 times
After the radio is done, I'm adding HUD and installing some Tein lowering springs:
HUD.jpg
HUD.jpg (46.39 KiB) Viewed 2730 times
Tein.jpg
Tein.jpg (71.08 KiB) Viewed 2755 times
I'll update the thread once I'm done installing everything.
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

As of this past weekend, I installed the new head unit, amp, backup cam and added some sound deadener to the rear sub box.

The cam isn't turning on when going in to reverse so I need to go back and look at the wires, pretty sure I know what is wrong. Need to do some cleanup and wire routing and close everything back up still.
PXL_20240121_203021612.jpg
PXL_20240121_203021612.jpg (162.37 KiB) Viewed 1392 times
PXL_20240122_141436031.jpg
PXL_20240122_141436031.jpg (342.2 KiB) Viewed 1392 times
PXL_20240122_141432024.jpg
PXL_20240122_141432024.jpg (277.37 KiB) Viewed 1392 times
PXL_20240120_155235529.jpg
PXL_20240120_155235529.jpg (331.1 KiB) Viewed 1392 times
tpollauf
Posts: 4014
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by tpollauf »

Nice work so far. Too bad the head unit didn't fit within the double-DIN opening, but then your screen diagonal would have been smaller.
Image
2009 Vibe GT (manual), 2009 G8Gt, 2009 Vibe GT (auto)
2014 Silverado, 2004 Vibe GT

"everything is modifiable"
wagonis
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:33 am

Re: My new(ish) Vibe

Post by wagonis »

tpollauf wrote: Tue Jan 23, 2024 5:12 pm Nice work so far. Too bad the head unit didn't fit within the double-DIN opening, but then your screen diagonal would have been smaller.
Thanks man, I appreciate that. I actually don't mind the head unit size. I could have went with the DD unit but I like these "floating" screen types that allow for repositioning of the screen. You can move the screen up/down or pivot left/right.

I had to go back in and re-wire the sub since its a 2 Ohm dual voice coil and I had it wired up in series for the last amp, had to rewire it for parallel. Also realized the backup cam wasn't turning on because I tapped in to the wrong wire on the backup lamp. Fixed that wiring issue and now it comes on as soon as I shift in to reverse.
Post Reply