Water temp issue!

Technical info on the Pontiac Vibe and Toyota Matrix including do-it-yourself info
vibinout06

Water temp issue!

Post by vibinout06 »

So I'm an Amateur DIYer with a newly purchased 06' vibe Gt. 216k miles. There's a boatload of stuff I could talk about but my main issue is the water temp level. During the day its 50° here in CT and at night it's getting closer 30°f. I drive to work 30 miles a day and 20 of those are on the highway. The car takes a while to warm up based on the temp gauge, around town it'll get to optimal temp within 10 mins but once I get on the highway it starts to go back down towards cold. I drained about a quart of coolant and replaced it with distilled water hoping it would help bring the temp up, and I think it did somewhat but it still doesn't stay in the middle unless I'm at slower speed and giving it more revs. The coolant was gross, dark orange with a brown hue and some black specs sitting at the bottom. I check my owners manual for the proper coolant and see it's dex-kill. So I'm planning on doing a flush with Toyota coolant and hoping that fixes the problem. Any guesses/answers to my problem Vibers? I'm hoping I don't have to replace the thermostat since it's tucked behind the alternator, I mean the thermostats technically working right? Anyways, thanks for your time!
andrewclaus

Re: Water temp issue!

Post by andrewclaus »

That sounds like a classic case of a thermostat stuck open. Coolant is always circulating in the radiator so when you get to highway speed you get too much cooling.

Be careful removing the serpentine belt. Use a six-point 19 mm socket on the tensioner so you don't strip it. Then pull the generator and you'll have access.

Since this is a Toyota engine, use the Asian red/pink coolant. There are threads on this site about that.
vibinout06

Post by vibinout06 »

Ok I understand now. Bummer, thanks for the tip man!
andrewclaus

Post by andrewclaus »