2004 Metal Tank Swapped With Newer Platic Tank

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
MiJaWi

2004 Metal Tank Swapped With Newer Platic Tank

Post by MiJaWi »

Hello. My name is Mike and this is my first post on this forum. I've been driving a silver 2004 FWD Vibe since 2018 but this car has been in the family since new.

I just swapped out my rusted metal tank for a 2007 plastic tank from a scrap yard Matrix. My gas tank has been leaking at the seam for a while now and have been putting off a swap due to a lack of data about such a swap. I can confirm that it is possible, but is most definitely not a direct bolt in swap. Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic, so if you see something in my post that looks like I did it wrong, then I probably did ;) .

I started the process by making a scouting trip to the U-Pick scrap yard near me to see what they had. Found a 2007 Matrix almost entirely intact. Next step, pull out my tank and look at what was needed off the 2007 Matrix before going in the scrap yard with the tools. I had already bought a plastic tank from another yard because this U-Pick yard drills out the tanks to drain the fuel.

What I ended up taking off the Matrix:
1: Fuel tank with pump assembly inside (took the tank straps with it + they looked almost new)
2: Charcoal Canister and all hoses attached to it (kept it attached to the tank when I pulled them)
3: Fuel filler neck (turns out the vent lines are different sizes, so the hoses to canister were different)
4: I clipped the wires from the fuel pump assembly and the canister because I had already seen that there were differences.
5: Unrelated Bonus items to the swap, sitting in the back of the Matrix were the two straps that come with the car (still have the Vibe straps) and a bag with the little attachment points that screw down into the sliding rail for the back of the car (I use mine all the time so now I have extras).