Gen1 E85 mix results (california)

Technical info on the Pontiac Vibe and Toyota Matrix including do-it-yourself info
cigvibe

Gen1 E85 mix results (california)

Post by cigvibe »

My background is in power tuning where E85 reigns supreme for crazy horsepower results. I have not actually put E85 in a daily driver car because up until this year, the price difference was not worth the potential issues and destroying of engine, fuel lines, or pumps.

For years, I have always wondered what would happen if you just put a splash of e85 with regular gas. Others have done this calling it E15 or E30, the number being the percentage of ethanol you are using.

Since my latest vibe is a beater and gas is now $5.45 a gallon here in cali, I decided to see what would happen if I mix E85 ($3.29 a gallon) with regular gas.

I DO NOT suggest that you do this on your personal car. I am willing to take the risk of damage or failure for the greater good of having data to share with others.

By my calculations, you can run 3 gallons of E85 for a full tank. Data suggests 4 gallons, but I wanted to be on the safe side. I started with 1.5 gallons on a half tank to see what would happen. The fuel trims went positive +5% from the baseline because the car will run more lean with e85 mixed in. I then filled up with gas and when there was space i put another 2 gallons. My fuel trim went to +8% from baseline.

So far, no issues, the car runs fine. I might suggest that it is a little bit more peppy with the higher octane e85 but that could just be my own mind thinking so. 3 gallons of e85 on a full gas fill should be fine. 4 is pushing it on stock injectors.

If you were to put in 2zz injectors, you could potentially go to a higher e85 content.
Cali Vibe 238k Wave Blue

mods
2zz "brown" 320cc injectors - Full time E85 gas - K&N airbox insert - charcoal filter delete - 3" fresh air duct
Bookworm

Re: Gen1 E85 mix results (california)

Post by Bookworm »