Denso coil bad after only 3 years ?

Discuss any maintenance you've done to your Vibe & Matrix and ask how to perform maintenance on your vehicle
cptnsolo77

Denso coil bad after only 3 years ?

Post by cptnsolo77 »

Recently I had a PO303 ( misfire cylinder #3 paired with a 420 code ) It was easily fixed with a spare coil and has not returned after 80 miles of driving. The bad coil was a Denso replacement and I was surprised that it went bad so quickly. Its only been about 40,000 miles. Funny how 3 years ago it was ALSO the coil for cylinder 3. THAT I find strange. On the bright side the throttle response is WAY better now. It wasnt running right and I was getting stumble when going into 2 and 3rd when I mashed the gas. I thought I had a transmission issue, but it did not throw a code until recent. I still have a vibration at idle that I have been tracing for 2 years :lol: and after this incident Im wondering if the other coils may be starting to go, but havent thrown a code yet and causing my vibration at idle issue. I also inspected the spark plug and was not fouled, and looked great. Im ready to buy 3 more coils to see what happens and get this vibration issue done ! Thoughts ?
Last edited by cptnsolo77 on Thu Sep 02, 2021 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
* 2003 Vibe Auto Satellite Silver w / Moons & Tunes
* Kenwood Excelon KDC-X597
* Polk DB651-Speakers
* Soundproofcow Roadblock R sound deadening in all doors
* Drop In K & N Filter
* NGK Iridium IX Plugs
* 27 MPG City/Highway with AC on
Caretaker

Re: Denso coil bad after only 3 years ?

Post by Caretaker »