Starter Motors

Discuss any maintenance you've done to your Vibe & Matrix and ask how to perform maintenance on your vehicle
Bookworm

Starter Motors

Post by Bookworm »

My Vibe, at 174k miles, is starting to occasionally make the buzzing noise in the starter, suggesting that it's not retracting fast enough, depending on conditions.

I'll probably order a decent one from Rockauto, but I wondered if anyone here had any experience with the cheap Chinese ones being sold on E-Bay? I wouldn't want one as a "I'm going to depend that this will keep working for years" starter, but I was thinking that for the price ($36, shipped), it might be worth keeping on the shelf as a "My starter just crapped out, and I need to use my car in an hour" unit.

I won't bother with a link to one, because this could sit for a while, but here's a quick search link on ebay for them.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R ... 2&_udhi=38
zbyers

Re: Starter Motors

Post by zbyers »

I have no experience with eBay starters. For that price, it really wouldn't be bad to hold onto even if you used it for the core swap or something.
'74 Thing, '79 El Camino, '83 VW DoKa '91 Vanagon, '03 Base, 04 GT
'06 CRV, '06 AWD, '07 Base, '12 Highlander Limited, '17 Frontier CCLB

Byerscrew Garage, GenVibe Facebook, How-To Index
Everything You Need To Know About the Pontiac Vibe
Caretaker

Post by Caretaker »

If you don't plan on keeping the car until it crashes/flips/burns and mysteriously dives off a cliff, then get any starter. If you plan on keeping the car until it crashes/flips/burns and mysteriously dives off a cliff, then consider getting one installed at Pep Boys for instance, where you can get a lifetime warranty in case it ever fails again. I chose Pep Boys to install my Honda Fit's starter since it was a total bear getting to it, and because I've already got the cliff picked out when the time comes.
vibrologist

Post by vibrologist »

I've already got the cliff picked out when the time comes