Flap of loose rubber on sidewall - serious?

Wheel and tire information and upgrade discussions
LilFett

Flap of loose rubber on sidewall - serious?

Post by LilFett »

My wife ran the front tire up against the curb the other day and I'm trying to decide if this is a serious gash or not.

I've never had low-profile tires before, so I'm not really sure if that changes things.

I've attached some pictures. The actual thickness of the rubber that's coming apart from the edge seems pretty thin to me, but I'm not experienced with tire damage. I can probably get a better shot of under the flap if that would help.

The tires are newish (probably 2,500 mi at most) and have a road hazard warranty on them from Sears, but if I'm not even sure if that covers this and I'd like to avoid the hassle if it's just cosmetic.

I've been lurking around the boards before actually buying the Vibe (2009 GT, just got it in July) and figured I'd start looking for advice here - thanks!
IMAG0873_small.jpg
IMAG0873_small.jpg (187.06 KiB) Viewed 4828 times
IMAG0875_small.jpg
IMAG0875_small.jpg (171.94 KiB) Viewed 4828 times
detail.jpg
detail.jpg (166.23 KiB) Viewed 4828 times
joatmon

Re: Flap of loose rubber on sidewall - serious?

Post by joatmon »

Tires are safety critical. Don't risk what you can't afford to lose.

That being said it might be fine or it might be unsafe, its hard to know from the picture. If you decide to keep using it then it might be prudent to rotate it to a rear spot. A front tire blowout can be a lot worse than a rear one.
vibenvy

Post by vibenvy »

Personally, I'd take it back to Sears and see what they have to say. As joatmon said, it's not worth getting in an accident over.

Those curbed, dirty wheels make me sad :cry:.
2009 Liquid Platinum Metallic Vibe GT - 5-Speed Auto – Garage
2009 Steel Blue Metallic Vibe GT - 5-Speed Auto – Garage
Kincaid

Post by Kincaid »