Novice Autocross school

Discussions about legally sanctioned general motorsports events
KITT222

Novice Autocross school

Post by KITT222 »

This past weekend I attended the local Novice Autocross school. And it was a TON of fun. I was one of 41 cars that ran, ranging from a Mazda Protege, to Mazdaspeed 3, to Subaru BRZ, Honda S2000, and so on. My Vibe was pretty good. As a driver I was good, but the heavy Vibe needs some heavy flogging to get any decent time. My final run was perfect, though I could have hit it harder, and I got my best time: 34.5 seconds. A GTI was running 31 seconds, and a cop who stopped by and ran the course twice (with lights and siren) only pulled a 35.8. But I love this. I may need a second set of tires for the track, since the understeer wreaks havoc on the front wheels (hardest corner was a U-turn going left... thus the passenger-side front wheel has more wear).

I got some people to take a few pics, plus I snapped some myself. Enjoy!

P.S.: Subaru BRZ and Scion FR-S rims WILL fit the Vibe

Two instructors had Elises. they were running 28/29 second laps
hotbug1776

Re: Novice Autocross school

Post by hotbug1776 »

I'm a road ralleye man myself. I do enjoy watching a good autox event though. To me there's nothing like the challenge of the open road and having to work as a team. That, and I get all flustered when trying to drive the cones. Looks like you had a blast. Keep up the vibe love.
cieglo

Post by cieglo »

I've been autocrossing around cones since last fall.
I'm hooked, an addict and my wallet feels the pain.
I picked up a set of RS3s for cooking around the cones to save my street tires. Have zero low end torque (in my '03) always hurts. I'm steadily learning (trying to...) how to drive the momentum and brake BEFORE turning to save the tires.