Roof Rack on 09 Base

Body kits, spoilers, lights, and anything on the exterior of the vehicle
Infinity-x

Roof Rack on 09 Base

Post by Infinity-x »

Fellower Vibers!! I am sorry if this has already been covered (I'm sure it has, but I am not good at working forum search functions).. ANYWAYS. I have an 09 Vibe base model 2.4 and it does not come with cross bars.. however it DOES come with some sort of black rubber molding on each side of the roof that spans from the rear of the car to the front. If I wanted to purchase something like such :Is there a way that would fit into this "rubber molding" ?? Or how would I even go about doing this.. I am trying to stay away from 2 scenarios:1. Having to buy OEM crossbars from GM2. Having to buy "Universal" products that use a strap under the windowsTHANKS!!
trb

Re: Roof Rack on 09 Base (Infinity-x)

Post by trb »

I don't know exactly how that one would mount, but I doubt it would fit in the factory mounting locations. I would just get a Toyota Matrix rack from ebay for $250, or search for a rack from an AWD Vibe at the salvage yards. That way you know it will fit right and look good. More info in this thread I found for someone else:http://forums.genvibe.com/zerothread?id=46082
Thomas
the "Mustang Guy"
1987 5.0 LX Mustang
2016 Mustang GT - current daily
2004 Satellite Vibe &
2009 Red Vibe GT -twin's cars
2003 Neptune Vibe GT - prior daily
2010 Red Vibe GT - RIP 6/16/14
2006 Platinum Vibe - son's car
SnowFish

Re: Roof Rack on 09 Base (Infinity-x)

Post by SnowFish »

Dealer wanted $528.00 for the OE racks. Little too salty for my taste.I should be getting the Toyota Matrix rack($250), for our 2010 Vibe, next week. I'll post some pics when installed.
SnowFish

Re: Roof Rack on 09 Base

Post by SnowFish »

I must say, the Toyota Matrix roof rack is really nice. Original equipment fix & finish. A whole E-Bay $250.00 is well worth it.

Here's the install. First remove the plug in the roof channels.