Any fruit/vegetable gardeners?

General discussions not related to the Vibe, Matrix, or any other vehicle. (follow posting rules)
808 Vibes

Any fruit/vegetable gardeners?

Post by 808 Vibes »

I'm new to gardening, which I happened upon by accident and has since become my new hobby. It's relaxing and satisfying to know that something is thriving in your care that you won't have to take their blood pressure twice a day, watch their diet, give them meds, show them how to put their own dentures in or listen to them scream.
I decided I was going to try- to save money because littlest "puppy" has a voracious healthy appetite...and I'm tired of paying for moldy, bruised and dinged fruits and vegetables.
~ ALIS VOLAT PROPRIIS ~
Salsa Guy

Re: Any fruit/vegetable gardeners?

Post by Salsa Guy »

I have garden ang grow veggies to make Salsa. Last year was a bust with the extreme heat. Hope this summer will be better if I can keep my damn puppy out of there.
05 Matrix XR 4WD and 03 Vibe GT
"If you want Government to solve your problems, then you are the problem!" BMSR
Trix MODS: SRI w/ AEM filter, Vibrant/Magnaflow Cat-back, Alutec Lightweight Crank Pulley
GT MODS: Cosmo SRI, DRL, Auto Stop
joatmon

Post by joatmon »

I try to grow some basic veggies, such as tomatoes, peppers, cukes. Last year I had a couple of good pumpkins, not sure I'll bother with those this year.

This year is also supposed to be really bad here for the invading asian stinkbugs, so I am not confident of reaping a bountiful harvest
808 Vibes

Post by 808 Vibes »

Cool! My question is this. Do tomatoes need full sun and a lot of water? So far I have roma tomato, green onion, mini carrot and squash pumpkin and everything gets sun and watered twice a day, but the only thing growing like crazy is the squash pumpkin. It's insane how much this thing grows in a day...it's gotta go in the yard soon with a trellis!
~ ALIS VOLAT PROPRIIS ~
joatmon

Post by joatmon »