Power Locks installation

Stereo, security systems, vehicle electronics, and electrical-related discussions
odysseus4

Power Locks installation

Post by odysseus4 »

Hey all, unsure where to put this so I'm going with here

I asked in the facebook group recently about a power lock actuator retrofit, maybe taking a junk sacrificial vibe or matrix, putting it's actuators panels all that in mine, and seeing how that would go, and it was recommended to me to get an aftermarket kit instead, specifically one from A1 Electric. After doing some browsing I found that this would be the kit for a vibe https://www.a1electric.com/Merchant2/me ... _Code=W02C

I'm going to be ordering those somewhat soon, but before I do, I want to know, how easy of an install would it likely be? What sort of specialized tools would I need? I've never done one of these before, I'm assuming it's not a particularly difficult job, would it be better to try and find a professional for peace of mind?

Also, I'll be getting a singular lock switch that I'll be locating next to the coin holder near the mirror control panel, on the left side of the steering wheel where many have the liftglass release button. I haven't been able to find a hatch release kit on A1, despite them saying "Kits are available for 2 and 4 doors and an extra actuator can get you going in 5 doors." Did they simply mean get a 5th actuator, like this? https://www.a1electric.com/Merchant2/me ... _Code=W16F And if so, would I have to wire that into the rest of the system, or would I be able to give it it's own switch? which would be better?

I won't be getting a keyless system from A1, as I'll likely be getting a keyless/remote start system installed afterwards from Compustar, specifically an FT-7200S-CONT. If anyone has any experience with that system, installing or simply using, feedback would be very appreciated

Thanks in advance
Account change

2003 Salsa Base 4 speed, 161k kilometers, JVC KW-X840BTS
dcjredline