New owner of a 2004 Neptune Blue AWD Vibe

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
oscarjm

New owner of a 2004 Neptune Blue AWD Vibe

Post by oscarjm »

I've been researching this forum for a couple months now while searching for a 1st generation AWD Vibe or Matrix. I finally found one and bought it, so I thought it is time to register and perhaps contribute.

A little background, if you care. I've wanted an AWD Matrix ever since I first saw one, but I was fresh out of grad school and didn't want to take on a loan for a new car. So, I eventually settled for a manual 1996 Honda Civic sedan that has been very reliable, but boring as can be, and have been driving it for the past 8 years without even thinking about selling it. My wife's 2001 RAV4 was traded in for a more family friendly Mazda5 last December, which made my Civic seem really old. So I started looking for an AWD Matrix/Vibe, and realized that the AWD Vibes are more affordable and don't have the extraneous Matrix underbody spoilers and extensions that seem to give the car even less ground clearance.

After a couple months of searching, I finally found a 2004 Neptune Blue AWD Pontiac Vibe that hit most of my criteria: affordable, low miles (68,000+), one owner, accident free, and relatively spotless for its age. ESC, side air bags, and TPMS might have been nice, but would be a rare find and limit me to a later year. I wouldn't have minded the Monsoon sub, either. Here are a couple pics: