Sway Bar Sizes

Handling, suspension, and brake tuning discussions
Vibraphone

Sway Bar Sizes

Post by Vibraphone »

Hello, I'm a newbie -- my first Asian car, after decades working on Benz, BMW, VW & Volvo.

I'm doing the suspension work on my newly acquired '06 Vibe. It looks like 2009-10 Vibes got a significant rear sway bar upgrade: 17.2mm to 29.97mm. Wow! If this is correct [I'm basing my info on MOOG: Rear to Frame Sway Bar Bushing Kit - 29.97 mm (1.18 Inch) k201446then]. If I acquire a later gen rear sway bar, it will correct a lot of my '06 pathetic understeer. Anyone out there done this? If true, I can only assume Toyota increased the diameter of the rear sway bar for a reason: 69%.... that's a huge difference--on basically the same car.
vibedrivermatt

Re: Sway Bar Sizes

Post by vibedrivermatt »

Hi the site isn't what isnused to be. Many of the users have moved into different cars and no longer post here. I also no longer post here frequently but used to post quite a bit back around 2009.

Anyway, concerning the TRD parts for your car, these are for the most part no longer available for sale anywhere. You might get lucky and find some parts listed on ebay or elsewhere. I suspect most the these TRD sway bars ended up in a scrap heap along with the cars, most of which may have been scrapped. If not they may have been shipped to central America. A lot of old toyotas tend to get shipped there.

There are a few other aftermarket type subframe stiffening parts I've seen on ebay that are suppsed to fit second generation vibes. I'm not at all familiar with how well they fit or work though.
Attachments
Screenshot_20240423_052448_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20240423_052448_Chrome.jpg (364.5 KiB) Viewed 28 times
SeattleJeremy

Re: Sway Bar Sizes

Post by SeattleJeremy »

I don't recommend using a rear bar that much larger than stock.