Looking to buy a Vibe -- Questions!

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
sailingharry

Looking to buy a Vibe -- Questions!

Post by sailingharry »

Greetings,My son has had a '04 for nearly two years, and has convinced me to buy one for my self! I'm looking for a somewhat newer (but still 1st gen) manual base model. I have a few questions:* I really love the opening rear hatch window. Is this available for all 1st gen years (up to 2008)?* Are there things to watch out for? Years or options that are good or bad?* I have had some bad experiences with automatic transmissions on other cars. How well do they hold up on these cars? Automatics are much more common.Thanks,Harry
star_deceiver

Re: Looking to buy a Vibe -- Questions! (sailingharry)

Post by star_deceiver »

Welcome to GenVibe!!! 1) Yes, the hatch window opens on all 03-08 models2) Stay away from the 03 manual transmissions in the base model, other years are fine. There's a power window recall in some models. There's a pcm recall in 05-08 models.3) I've never owned a vehicle without a stick shift so I can't comment on the laziness... I mean reliability of the slushbox! But most people here have no problems.
2019 Ram 3500 4x4 CCSB srw 8HP75
2016 Ram 3500 4x4 RCLB Dually w/stick (traded in - 05/10/19)
2012 Chevy Silverado 1500 Cheyenne 4x4 (Traded in - 03/30/16)
2009 Vibe. (Traded in - 12/12/12)
KITT222

Re: Looking to buy a Vibe -- Questions! (star_deceiver)

Post by KITT222 »