Almost 50,000 on the clock...my thoughts

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
Mcwrench

Almost 50,000 on the clock...my thoughts

Post by Mcwrench »

Greetings all. I bought my 2009 AWD on August 2008 and I am quickly approaching the 50,000km mark. I thought that I should share my observations about this car.First of all, we'll talk about the driver...I'm a very qualified automotive technician with 20 years experience - mostly on General Motors products but I am also competent with many of the Asian products on the roads in Canada. I believe that preventative maintenance is key to longevity of a motor vehicle, and I spare no expense in that regard with any of my vehicles. I am a non-aggressive driver, however, my cruising speed is around the 125km/h mark. I commute 190km highway miles round trip every weekday.Okay, now onto the car. Over the course of ownership, I have had the car in for warranty repairs five times for the following reasons:1) B-pillar molding loose. This has been repaired twice now. If you're not careful getting into the car, and your *** hits the molding...it will pop off. They use an interference fit between the weatherstrip and flimsy tabs on the molding in order to secure said molding in place. It's flopping around now...I guess it's normal.2) A/C not cold enough. A leaky seal at the evaporator.3) Vibration at 100km/h. 4 wheels balanced.4) Whistling noise over 50% throttle. Restriction in muffler...muffler replaced.5) Clicking sensation when depressing brake pedal. Was told it's the switch and I have to live with it.6) Volume knob spins, does not do anything. Replaced Stereo.7) D/S power window motor noisy. Replaced P/W regulator.8) L/F speaker inop, R/F buzzing. Replaced speakers...lol...9) Vibration at idle, feel through floor and steering wheel, especially noticeable when A/C compressor is activated, and lots of accessories are on. I've had this looked at 3 times now. They've flus