Digital Noise - is it that important?

Share your photos, discuss your camera, get advice or request "Photoshop" assistance.
GoLowDrew

Digital Noise - is it that important?

Post by GoLowDrew »

I'm looking at a Sony Alpha A100. Good camera, great price now.The reviews have all be positives except one factor - noise starts at 400ISO or above.Note: I don't own a DSLR so I have no experience.Questions:- When the light is low, the camera would be smart enough to use flash, so is noise still a problem?- When the light is low, we use a slower shutter speed, will the noise still be a problem? The A100 also has "Shake Reduction" so I can go maybe 2 step slower.I know it's hard to say what I'm shooting. But in general, is noise that important?There are other cameras that do well with low light, but they are out of my price range (Nikon D80).
2004 Vibe, Auto Trans. Built Sept 2003. Date in service May 2004. Sold May 2006.
n2ho

Re: Digital Noise - is it that important? (GoLowDrew)

Post by n2ho »

Good source to get answer for your questions:http://www.dpreview.comGeorge
millster

Post by millster »