Buying 4 new steel wheels for a 2005

Wheel and tire information and upgrade discussions
jsmellie

Buying 4 new steel wheels for a 2005

Post by jsmellie »

We got our first major winter weather here in Detroit a couple weeks ago. I slid on some ice while trying to turn, hit a curb at low speed, and wound up bending one of my steel wheels. My auto shop wants $160 to order me a new one, which I know is ridiculous. Another local shop can sell me a new one for $65 and install (mount/balance/dispose) for $15. That's not bad, but I wondered if I could do better.

The whole set of wheels is pretty ugly (they're the original OEM set on my 2005 Vibe), so I would consider replacing them all. I've tried searching online (Car-Part, GM Parts Center, TireRack, eBay) to see options for new wheels, but I'm not good at getting results. I know wheels from other vehicles will fit just fine on the Vibe, and I know the folks here can make those recommendations.

What's the best price I can get on 4 new steel wheels for my 2005 2WD Vibe?

Heck, while I'm at it, my wheel covers are in horrible shape and need to be replaced. What's the best price I can get on 4 new wheel covers? OEM preferred, but I'd consider anything else that's a good fit and a good deal, as long as it's a set of 4.
Owim

Re: Buying 4 new steel wheels for a 2005

Post by Owim »

When I bent my 09 vibe chrome clad wheels I went with steelies and got a set from ebay for about $240 total. For some reason(it's been about 2 years I can't remember if they just didnt make them for the vibe or w/e) I could not find oem steel wheels so I just ordered them from a guy who makes them custom. the offset and bolt pattern are the important things to look at.
2009 2.4 AWD
vibenvy

Post by vibenvy »