TPMS sensors and aftermarket wheels

Wheel and tire information and upgrade discussions
Scwmcan

TPMS sensors and aftermarket wheels

Post by Scwmcan »

I am new to all this TPMS sensor stuff and as winter is coming up am getting prepared for it. I got a set of used aftermarket wheels and am wondering about the TPMS sensors, I know that I don't have to use them if I can stand the light being on, how bad ( annoying) is this, I also know they will need to be programmed into the car spring and fall if I get new ones for the winter wheels ( would probably get the low cost programmer I saw for this if I go this route). Besides the light and any other warnings I am wonder if there are special wheels for the sensors or should they work on any wheel? Since I already got the wheels ( used alloys, I prefer the look to steel and they were as cheap as new steels) I would like to know before I go ordering the sensors, though if the warnings aren't too bad and it doesnt mess up traction and stability control then I may do without the extra expense of them, I would prefer to only have the tires installed on these rims once, and not have to have them removed and installed again because I decide I want the sensors after all if it is too annoying.