tire install problem question

Wheel and tire information and upgrade discussions
shanghei

tire install problem question

Post by shanghei »

I went to Sams Club this afternoon to get new tires on my 03 Pontiac Vibe. When I went to pick it up it was about 7:20 pm and the tire department closed at 7:00pm so the manager gave me the receipt and my key back.
I drove about 1 mile and I heard a noise coming from the rear passenger tire. The noise only occurred when braking. It was like a thumping sound. I immediately pulled over and there was smoke coming out around the rear passenger side. So I drove the car back to sams club to leave my car there.

My question though is, what do you guys think went wrong? I figured something might be locked up but I am no car expert. The brakes are in the front and drums are in the back. I definitely think they did something wrong but so I dont look like an idiot tomorrow when I go back in the morning, anyone know what the problem could be?
thebarber

Re: tire install problem question

Post by thebarber »

shanghei wrote:I went to Sams Club this afternoon to get new tires on my 03 Pontiac Vibe. When I went to pick it up it was about 7:20 pm and the tire department closed at 7:00pm so the manager gave me the receipt and my key back.
I drove about 1 mile and I heard a noise coming from the rear passenger tire. The noise only occurred when braking. It was like a thumping sound. I immediately pulled over and there was smoke coming out around the rear passenger side. So I drove the car back to sams club to leave my car there.

My question though is, what do you guys think went wrong? I figured something might be locked up but I am no car expert. The brakes are in the front and drums are in the back. I definitely think they did something wrong but so I dont look like an idiot tomorrow when I go back in the morning, anyone know what the problem could be?
could have forgotten to tighten the wheel lugs all the way...

or something is rubbing