Elemental Vibe: Honda to Pontiac...

Park your vehicle in a thread here - list your vehicle info, pics, etc. all in one place.
Elemental

Elemental Vibe: Honda to Pontiac...

Post by Elemental »

Hi. I’m Erik. I recently purchased a 2009 Vibe base model to replace my 2005 Honda Element. I’ve been driving Elements for the past 8 years, absolutely love them for the versatility. Monumental space inside for the size of the vehicle. Mine was taken out by a recent storm, stabbed through the heart (dashboard) by a tree limb, and after a few weeks of searching for a new one, I settled on my Vibe.
I’ve had a couple friends in the past who have owned and loved their vibes until high mileage set in, so it was one of the first vehicles that I looked into. I’ve always liked hatchbacks for the compact size vs. versatility. So I know that the Vibe doesn’t have near the cargo capacity as the Element, but I’ll make it work. I’m planning on adding roof racks for my bike, etc. I’ll sure miss just wheeling the thing into the back.
I was happy to find a flourishing Vibe/Matrix forum, as I’ve been a long time member of the Element Owners Club, which I have gotten much knowledge from through the years.
Alrite, this is going on too long. My car is a red ‘09 base model with 103k miles. It’s in good condition with normal wear and tear. I’m hoping to get many good years out of the thing. I already have many questions that need answers, so here we go......
‘09 Red Hot Metallic Base model
zbyers

Re: Elemental Vibe: Honda to Pontiac...

Post by zbyers »

Welcome to GenVibe. I think you're in good hands here!

On the early 09's, biggest thing to watch for is oil burning. There is a TSB or something for the Matrix on it. If it's burning oil, not much you can do to save it other than to keep an eye on it and keep it topped off. My dad's 09 burns a little bit between oil changes, but nothing astronomical. I just had a customer yesterday saying theirs burns about a quarter every 1000 miles.