2004 Vibe Base Model, Restoration Project

Park your vehicle in a thread here - list your vehicle info, pics, etc. all in one place.
Robert1Stock

2004 Vibe Base Model, Restoration Project

Post by Robert1Stock »

Hello, new member & semi-new owner!

I have been restoring my 2004 Vibe for several months and just found this site! Probably would have saved me some heart ache but where's the fun in that?

Goal:
Have a daily driver / weekend fun car that I can take near anywhere, pay near nothing in fuel (40MPG? :) ), and feel nice and safe in knowing it won't ever break down on me. I want it to be smooth, quiet, and overall comfortable as humanly possible!

Starting Point:
2004 Pontiac Vibe Base, Black, 1.8ltr 4cyl with Automatic Transmission & AWD; 141k Miles - Purchase price $4,200.

What is needed:
1. Rims & Tires - Steel wheels are a no go, need light and affordable! Tires? They are re-tread's and my luck with them is 0, so replacement!
2. Shocks & Struts (front) - Struts are so bad when I sit on the fender (and I'm fat...) it goes down maybe a 1/2 inch before it hits the bottom...
3. Shocks & Struts (rear) - Haven't inspected these but if the front was bad, I can replace the back while I'm at it I guess.
4. Rotors (front) / Pads - They are somewhat warped and not a hole lot of life left on them.
5. Drums (rear) / Pads - Guessed it, warped and no meat on the pads!
6. Drive Axle's - All the way around they have an amount of rust on them I am not too comfortable with!
7. Wheel bearing & Hub assembly - They are so buggered! The lugs on a couple of them have been stripped, out with them...
8. Exhaust - boy is this tricky, it's rusted and has what looks like patched holes. I don't want noise, I want pure quiet, I want less noise than stock.
9. Fluids Exchange - This should be easy, a drain and fill of fluids: Oil, Coolant, Brake, Steering, Differential, if its viscous, it will be replaced.