Corrosion on 2005 OEM Wheels?

Park your vehicle in a thread here - list your vehicle info, pics, etc. all in one place.
vibedrive

Corrosion on 2005 OEM Wheels?

Post by vibedrive »

I have the "Moons & Tunes" 2005 Vibe with the aluminum wheels. It is moonstone in color (didn't know what "moonstone was until I visited GenVibe).
Anyway, I am just beginning to see that the silver coating on the cast aluminum wheels is starting to "swell" in a few places indicating corrsion issues under the coating. I live in the lowlands of Washington State, but the roads are salted in the winters occasionally.
What should I do? Let it get a lot worse, then sandblast and re-coat? What re-coat is best?
Thank You, Great Forum!
Kip
Wingnut

Re: Corrosion on 2005 OEM Wheels?

Post by Wingnut »

My wheels are doing the same thing. I have it on all of them and several areas are flaking off now. I'm just using them for winter so they are only going to get worse. I will probably just blast them and repaint them soon.
2004 Vibe 5 speed with factory oem body kit and wings.
Mods: Sound system, 18" Excel MR7 Rims, 225 40 R18 tires ACT 4 puck clutch.

jkm311

Post by jkm311 »

The only way I was able to slow this problem with my wheels was to get a set of winter rims, thus keeping the salt and junk from making them worse. This helped a lot, and I only have minor, minor bubbling. Maybe 4 spots total on all 4 rims combined. Nothing unsightly, but this issue does seems to be a problem across the board. A co-worker of mine had a 2003 Vibe, and with mine being a 2006, I used his Vibe as a barometer of what damage and aging I could expect. His rims were AWFUL. The "bubbling" from underneath was rampant, so he just bought a cheaper set of rims to replace them all since he still loved the car. But, after
going with rims that had thinner 7-spokes, now his problem was rusty drums in the rear and calipers in the front. :o