Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Upholstery, floor mats, seats, window tint and anything inside the vehicle and not electronic
Post Reply
User avatar
Vulcan05
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:44 am

Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by Vulcan05 » Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:10 am

If you have a dash cam installed, what brand and what is your opinion of it?
2010 Vibe. Moon roof, Monsoon, 2.4 engine, 5 speed auto, cruise, dark gray.

beemerphile1
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:12 am
Location: NE Ohio

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by beemerphile1 » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:01 am

Yes,
DVR-207
It has worked reliably for around two years now.

Check out this website and forums;
https://dashcamtalk.com/
NE Ohio - home to the most successful Pontiac drag racing team in history - Bill Knafel's "Tin Indian" and also home to Summit Auto Racing.
2009 Vibe base 1.8L auto towing 2009 Aliner Sport hardsided pop-up

BenWA
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by BenWA » Sat Dec 19, 2015 4:01 pm

I have a GS8000L, a cheap one. They can be had for $18-35 depending where you buy it from (China or US, ebay or Amazon, etc)

It's nothing fancy but it does it's job ok. Here are a couple of videos I did a year ago in my last car:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiijERDQzXs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h55XNVYJ7xY
2003 Vibe Base A/T
Image

User avatar
ColonelPanic
Posts: 8315
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 8:48 am
Location: South Central Indiana

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by ColonelPanic » Sat Dec 19, 2015 7:08 pm

The GS8000L looks like it takes pretty good video for the price.
03 Vibe base. Born 10/14/2002 06:07 AM
Neptune. Auto, Moon & Tunes, power package. 135k mi.

Image

'13 Sonic LT - 1.4L ECOTEC turbo/6A. 116k mi.
'15 Escape SE - 1.6L EcoBoost, FWD. 58k mi. (hers)
ImageImage

BenWA
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by BenWA » Sat Dec 19, 2015 7:24 pm

There is one thing to be aware of with that cam, you have to use nothing faster than a Class 4 or 6 MicroSD card. Class 10 ones causes corruption problems, or won't work at all. I run a very small size card (2 or 4GB) right now since it was one i already had. It supports up to 32GB though.

Also one part of the menu is confusing.. so I did a guide about that, plus a few other things... https://sites.google.com/site/gs8000lhelp/
2003 Vibe Base A/T
Image

User avatar
tpollauf
Posts: 3560
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by tpollauf » Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:27 pm

Great topic and one I can relate to for sure. Just bought one from Costco online about two months ago and for the most part it is great .... but there are some drawbacks. It is made by "Rear View Safety" thus the model name RVS-250 HD dash cam w/gps. HEre are a couple of pics of the unit along with TWO different Micro SD cards. The original card will allow me to play back on any computer BUT not in just any multimedia application. It had to be Quicktime only. The 32g card, which I used to give me 4 hours of recording instead of just one hour, will NOT let me export anything. That really sucks because I actually recorded a neat auto accident while sitting at a red light. I can view it on the 2.7" screen that is on the unit BUT not on anything else. A bit puzzled and had no time to further research the problem. Any suggestions? Thanks ........................... Tim

Image

Image

Image
Image
"everything is modifiable"

User avatar
ImUrOBGYN
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by ImUrOBGYN » Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:25 am

I have a phone mount that lets me use my phone. I"m driving and it's in the mount anyway for music, gps, etc. Might as well use it for a dash cam, as well. Here's the app I use for my Android based phone. I haven't checked around in a long time for a better app, so there may be some out there. This has served me well, however.

DailyRoads Voyager
http://www.dailyroads.com/voyager.php

Google Play page
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ds.v&hl=en
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered. - George Best
ImageImageImage

BenWA
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Do You Have A Dash Cam?

Post by BenWA » Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:01 pm

Did you format the new card using the camera?

Quicktime only? Ouch!

My cheap one does avi files and they can be played in any media player (if you have the codec on your PC anyway).

I'm too forgetful to rely on Android apps. I wouldn't remember to always put the phone in a holder and open the app.
2003 Vibe Base A/T
Image

Post Reply