TRD rear sway bar installed 09..

Technical info on the Pontiac Vibe and Toyota Matrix including do-it-yourself info
vibedrivermatt

TRD rear sway bar installed 09..

Post by vibedrivermatt »

Hello I put a TRD rear sway bar on my vibe on my 09 vibe (TRD p/n PTR11-12080). I thought the site could benefit from a few pics of one of these being installed. Please keep in mind that I am not a professional mechanic. I did the installation on ramps. Its my understanding that there aren't any unusual stresses or pressures on the sway bar while the wheels are in contact with the ground so ramps are OK. I didn't forget to chock the wheels. I decided to spray some lubricating penetrant on the nuts before breaking them loose. Here's the fasteners. I took a few precautions with these parts because I didn't want them getting messed up. I washed the parts off to remove the lubricating penetrant and then made sure they were dry before reusing them. I thought it could be possible for the lubricant to throw off the torque values and let them get over tightened. That would be a big no no. This is the torque wrench I used to torque the nuts down to spec. I found a big piece of plastic pipe (cheater pipe) and attached it to the end for a little more control and leverage of the torque wrench. The nuts could still get torqued down correctly without this but didn't hurt having it. I torqued each side down in a few increments time until I reached the torque specifications for the fasteners. The specification for the fasteners is 184 ft-lbs.DONE!! Time to drive off ramps and put tools away.
joatmon

Re: TRD rear sway bar installed 09.. (vibedrivermatt)

Post by joatmon »

can you feel any noticeable difference with the new sway bar?
Sublimewind

Post by Sublimewind »

Wow so simple... it took me 10min to thread my rear sway into my subie.. lol.. I shoulda dropped the exhaust..
vibedrivermatt

Re: TRD rear sway bar installed 09.. (joatmon)

Post by vibedrivermatt »