replaced lower control arms, now alignment issues

Handling, suspension, and brake tuning discussions
cms1218

replaced lower control arms, now alignment issues

Post by cms1218 »

First off i would like to say that i am new to this forum so hello.I am a heavy engine mechanic by trade, and know my way around cars for the most part. over the weekend i replaced the lower control arms and ball joints on my 2005 vibe. it is a fwd base model. after completing the job, i found the tires to be severely toe in. i adjusted it buy eye and sent it to my local shop to get aligned, the tech at the shop told me after he got the car on the rack that the initial total toe was 5.5 deg in, after some adjustment he was able to get both tires to 1.5 deg toe in. the problem now is that there is no more adjustment left on the inner tie rods. the car is now drive able but will wear the tires if not corrected and also there is something obviously wrong and that is bothersome. when i returned from the shop i removed the pass lower control arm due to ease of access and matched it up with the old one. i can not see any differences that stand out. the tech suggested that there may be a problem with the steering rack, i don not want to throw parts at the car until if find the issue. was hoping someone could help me thank you.
gtv237

Re: replaced lower control arms, now alignment issues

Post by gtv237 »

I kind of have a hard time believing it ran out of adjustment threads. If is towed in too far then the tie rods need to be shortened or screwed into each other. I would take a look under the vehicle and see if there is any visible threads left exposed on the tie rods. It's possible that the jam nut is just seized and they don't want to mess with it.
cms1218

Post by cms1218 »

no there are no threads left on the inner tie rods there is just enough threads to tighten the jam nuts.
gtv237

Post by gtv237 »