Your opinions on KYB vs Tokico + Eibach Pro-Kit?

Handling, suspension, and brake tuning discussions
Squrl888

Your opinions on KYB vs Tokico + Eibach Pro-Kit?

Post by Squrl888 »

Hey guys, my first post here! I was gonna post a picture of my new Vibe but I needed to post this question first as I am getting dangerously close to buying new struts.

I have a base 2005 Vibe with 175k miles. I don't know when the PO replaced the struts last. When I'm driving over bumpy roads I hear almost a rattling sound coming from the front passenger side when I hit bumps. My uninformed opinion is it's the strut mounts. I'm just learning how to work on cars so I set up an appointment for Monday to have my cars suspension inspected. I'm wondering if it's struts/strut mounts/ or sway bar links...what else could be causing this noise?
I was at the GM dealer for the airbag recall (which they can't do anything about it) and had my throttle body cleaned in the meantime. They said that the struts had some minor leakage but they marked it 'yellow' on the sheet for intermediate danger (as in 'replace soon' but not absolutely necessary yet) I thought that any strut leakage means the struts are blown?

Anyways, I also notice that the Vibe is pretty unsettled and almost scary to drive going around bumpy highway corners.

So everything seems to be pointing to replacing my struts.
Now here's the question that the topic of this post.
I'm interested in making my car more fun to drive, I'm a college student so money is kind of tight, but I have a job with a lot of hours and I wouldn't mind spending a few hundred extra on a big improvement in my car.

My Vibe is a daily driver with about 50/50 highway and city driving. Comfort is important but I also wish it was more composed along bumpy highway corners and a bit better at taking turns.