AWD rear suspension upgrade?

Handling, suspension, and brake tuning discussions
09SnowyVibe

AWD rear suspension upgrade?

Post by 09SnowyVibe »

Hi guys. I had an 09 AWD White Vibe that got wrote off September last year. We just picked up a red FWD Vibe, and LOVE it. We drove 2 1/2 hours to get this one because it was red, FWD, and better yet, it has the 2.4 like our old one! Too bad we don't have an AWD, but the fuel mileage didn't justify the cost.

I do miss the independent rear suspension. Can I take the complete IRS off an AWD, and bolt it up to mine without the differential and shafts? Obviously I need to find a bolt for the rear bearings so they don't fly apart. Im a mechanic so this stuff is easy, but I really don't want to go modifying the rear structure of the car lol. I don't want the AWD, just the IRS.

Thanks
2009 Vibe AWD
2001 Sunfire GTX
1993 Buick Park Ave
1984 Chevrolet Citation
vibrologist

Re: AWD rear suspension upgrade?

Post by vibrologist »

Well, I was hoping somebody would respond to this thread, because I am interested in improving the ride comfort of my Vibe. Is the AWD more comfortable?
Snowy, if you do this modification, would you please write it up for us?

And another question for you: What do you think about this idea to improve the ride comfort in particular at low speeds: would it be possible to replace the struts with those of a Chevrolet Cavalier? At least the rear struts have more travel and I have not ran across complains about the Cavalier's ride comfort. Both have twist beam rear suspension.
Vibrologist
'05 Vibe

"It is important to know the difference between 'accurate' and 'precise' even if you are neither!"

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=43476
gtv237

Post by gtv237 »

I believe the 09-10 vibe GT's (FWD) do have independent rear suspension. If anything I would use that.
trb

Post by trb »

gtv237 wrote:I believe the 09-10 vibe GT's (FWD) do have independent rear suspension. If anything I would use that.