Drivers Ed

General discussions not related to the Vibe, Matrix, or any other vehicle. (follow posting rules)
Kevzaz

Drivers Ed

Post by Kevzaz »

Ya, So I am taking drivers ed since I am a new driver, and I want to be a good new driver. And to lower my insurance. Thoughts on drivers ed?
Whelan

Re: Drivers Ed (Kevzaz)

Post by Whelan »

10 and 2, or is it 11 and 3. Ugh who cares, in the Trix one hand is on 9pm, I cruise casually.My driver's ed class was through my HS so it was free, our drive car was a 1997 Ford Taurus (the oval style). Huge car for a first timer, but you get to know the road. Don't freak out when you get on the highway and he yells "Gun it!!!" my guy did. And don't stare at the pedal on the right that they have and wonder when they are going to use it.Nowadays they use smaller cars like Civic and Corollas to teach people in. But do yourself a favor, be patient and literally pay no attention to the people around you. They may get aggravate and pass you or honk, just keep paying attention to your teach and the road. It will pay off. It's how my Dad taught me standard, he got in the passenger side, threw me the keys and said, let's go. No parking lot, just drive. And if we were on a hill with people behind us, he would wave them by so I didn't roll back to them. Had his hand on the Ebrake just in case. After about 3-4 times of driving, I was allowed to go on my own. Ever since then I drove a standard till I got my Trix last year. Man I miss them.
2012 GLI Autobahn 6MT
northvibe

Post by northvibe »

heck yes do it, cheaper insurance and you get to hone your driving skills. i cant believe ive actually heard my sister and another 16yr old tell me they are good drivers.. my sister then totals my car 3 days after getting her license and the other kid did too... uh to much confidence, cell phones and little experience. if my insurance had that id totally do it. there a rally school in NH..wonder if those classes would count :D
zionzr2

Post by zionzr2 »