Do I need a wheel alignment?

Discuss any maintenance you've done to your Vibe & Matrix and ask how to perform maintenance on your vehicle
Vibe2009

Do I need a wheel alignment?

Post by Vibe2009 »

Ok, I had my 09 vibe for 1.5 yrs now with 14,000 kms... Should I do a alignment? It had been though two hash winter already and I worry the alignment might be off...How often do you guys do it?
Red Hot Metallic 2.4L, 5sp Auto, 17" Chrome Clad wheels, XM
Wolfman213

Post by Wolfman213 »

I'm not an expert by all means, just want to chime in till the ones with more know-how can. I believe that you don't need an alignment unless you have either, done suspension work or are actually feeling something or noticing an issue of it pulling to one side while on a flat road.
April 2010 Co-MOTM * Custom LED Gauge Cluster swap * LED dome, HVAC, and shifter * Retrofit projector w/ blue halo * Kenwood KDC-HD942U * Herculined cargo area * Debadged *Wolfman's Garage
djkeev

Re: Do I need a wheel alignment? (Vibe2009)

Post by djkeev »

Up to you, Are you concerned with getting uber miles out of your tires and preventing unwanted front end wear and odd driving characteristic?IF you answer yes, go get the alignment checked. Some tire shops will sell you a "lifetime" alignment for considerably more than just one. Ask them about it, what are the "buts" and "ifs" that disqualify you from the service.Opinions are all over the board on this one. I tend to put it off, don't want to spend the cash, it's running fine, etc. If I see any funny wear on the tread or the car feels different, I'll probably take it in. I've got in excess of 60,000 on it now.If I need new tires sooner, so be it. They tend to go "funny" as the years tick by getting noisy and rough, and new ones are always a joy to have.I'll also add that IF you have hit craters of pot holes or drive on some really rough roads all of the time, you might consider more frequent checking of it.Dave
(o ! /o) (o)=I=(o)
vibedrivermatt