Simple electric fan for supercharger - would it actually work?

Supercharger, turbo, nitrous, and anything that has to do with forced induction
whitfiel

Simple electric fan for supercharger - would it actually work?

Post by whitfiel »

I'm a newbie to performance enhancements like forced induction - I'd just like to eek out a little more power out of my 1zz engine in my 2003 Vibe. While catching my breath over the price of the Vibe supercharger, I stumbled across this on ebay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors...74368I would imagine that "you get what you pay for". Would a $20 electric squirrel cage fan actually work???Best regards,Art
Arthttp://WindWorksDesign.com
BlueCrush

Re: Simple electric fan for supercharger - would it actually work? (whitfiel)

Post by BlueCrush »

It would work about as well as connecting a hose to your intake routing it thru the firewall, under the dash, under the drivers seat, up the back of the drivers seat, around the headrest to your mouth and blowing into it while driving. (Ha, Ha, that was kind of funny!)Umm...no it doesn't work!
My Fleet:
'15 Ford Fusion AWD Titanium 2.0 Tutbo
'14 Lincoln MXZ AWD 2.0 Turbo
'14 Nissan Pathfinder AWD SL
'05 Pontiac Vibe AWD
ArcsVibe

Post by ArcsVibe »

Save your money and buy some gas lol. They do not work at all.BTW Bluecrush that was funny!
Genvibe Global Moderator
MOTM September 06 & July 09
VOTM April 06
Neptune Vibe 2003 (7-10-2003 - 9-14-2010 vendu/sold)
Mazda3 GX 2008 (9-14-2010 - 5-09-2014 vendu/sold)
Matrix XR 2010 (5-09-2014)

GMJAP

Post by GMJAP »

You know it's crap when they tell you it "does not rob your engine of horsepower, the SuperCharger is powered by your 12volt that your alternator is already making."As the electrical load on the alternator increases, it gets harder to turn, and thus puts more mechanical load on the engine. In other words, it uses more engine power.I saw a deal on bulk CPU fans the other day- I need to start selling "superchargers" on Ebay for $125 a pop...