CD player works only on battery power - auto eject with car running

Stereo, security systems, vehicle electronics, and electrical-related discussions
esachs

CD player works only on battery power - auto eject with car running

Post by esachs »

Hi Everybody,

I'm new to the vibe life and to this forum. Was very glad to stumble upon you all as an amazing resource.

Here's the deal: I have a 2005 with single CD player and subwoofer / sunroof. The factory head unit works fine under battery power, but when I turn the engine on, only the radio works. With the engine running, it just ejects CD's all day. On Battery, it plays perfectly.

I also noticed, when trying out an aftermarket head unit that came with the car, that there was some static constantly present through the speakers when the unit was on, no matter if fm, aux, or cd.

I should add that there is an aftermarket remote start installed, and I'm wondering if that messed up something in the ignition switch? or might I be dealing with a bad ground somewhere?

any ideas or help would be appreciated for my radio woes.

thanks,
-evan
zbyers

Re: CD player works only on battery power - auto eject with car running

Post by zbyers »

I am of no help when it comes to radio (and wiring in general) issues. Just wanted to say welcome to the best group on the internet! Someone else with more knowledge should chime in with some info.
'74 Thing, '79 El Camino, '83 VW DoKa '91 Vanagon, '03 Base, 04 GT
'06 CRV, '06 AWD, '07 Base, '12 Highlander Limited, '17 Frontier CCLB

Byerscrew Garage, GenVibe Facebook, How-To Index
Everything You Need To Know About the Pontiac Vibe
Bookworm

Post by Bookworm »

Honestly, it sounds like you have poor power. The CD drive, because of the motor, requires clean power.