2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Stereo, security systems, vehicle electronics, and electrical-related discussions
Post Reply
onesidedown
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 9:18 am

2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Post by onesidedown » Mon Feb 18, 2019 5:58 pm

I'm just curious about this. Is it possible to keep the onstar mic for use with a new head unit since I don't use the onstar service itself and I'd rather not hang a mic from my sun visor?
2010 Vibe 2.4L FWD

JeffLang
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:32 am

Re: 2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Post by JeffLang » Sun Mar 10, 2019 5:26 pm

This is exactly what I would like to do also!
I am in the process of installing a new head unit in my 2006 and wondered the same thing. If I could use the Onstar mic built into rear view mirror.

zbyers
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Sheffield, Pennsylvania

Re: 2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Post by zbyers » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:59 am

Does the onstar mirror connect to the OEM radio? if so, it's probable. If not, i'd say no.
(2) '03 Bases, '03 GT, '04 AWD, '06 AWD, '07 Base, '09 AWD
GenVibe on Facebook, Everything You Need To Know About Vibes, Great How-To Index
GenVibe Meet 2019

Davicof
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:54 pm

Re: 2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Post by Davicof » Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:06 am

I'm following this. I just got a Kenwood Excelon DDX396 installed in my base 2009 vibe, and now have the cheap mic pinned to the dash. Other than this disappointment, I love the upgrade. I'm getting amazing sound through the stock speakers. I ran a USB cable into the console and now have access to 1000's of songs.

User avatar
tpollauf
Posts: 3357
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: 2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Post by tpollauf » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:26 am

Davicof wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:06 am
I just got a Kenwood Excelon DDX396 installed in my base 2009 vibe
Sounds good. How clean was the install and did you run into any problems? Post a final pic of the dash if you can showing the new head unit!
Image
"everything is modifiable"

JeffLang
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:32 am

Re: 2010 vibe new head unit using onstar mic?

Post by JeffLang » Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:03 am

Perhaps it can’t be done. I found this topic being discussed on another forum.
I’m posting the link.

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/au ... tooth.html

Post Reply