Brake line fitting

Discuss any problems, warranty, repair, or replacement issues you are having with your Vibe & Matrix
ihaveavibe

Brake line fitting

Post by ihaveavibe »

I've been noticing a bit of sluggishness and bad fuel consumption (again) so I started suspecting brake drag. I'm not that good with diagnosing this but i tried to spin each wheel by hand individually and found the front left was somewhat difficult. I decided to change the break fluid, but then thought that might not really have anything to do with it, so I changed the caliper and attempted to change the break hose. I had already done the passenger side in the spring (seized caliper) and figured I should have done both.

However, when it came to changing the brake hose, I simply couldn't thread the fitting into the new one. I got the replacement from Advance (Wearever, supposedly exact fit), so I went out and got another one from Autozone (Duralast, also supposedly exact fit). I had the same threading problem. I figured it wasn't me being clumsy because In the meantime I put the old one back on, twice.

So the question is, is my old fitting and hose cross threaded? I believe this caliper and hose was already replaced by a shop about 6 years ago, so it's not factory original.

How can I fix this? I'm first going to see if the problem of fuel consumption and sluggishness goes away, but it bothers me that the fitting might be bad. I could test if the new hose is M10x1.0 (is that the right thread?). But in the end if it's really the fitting I think the easiest would be to get a Matrix hydraulic brake line (front #5). Is there a howto for replacing the hard line? Any gotchas? How do you get it through the wheel well? How do you keep all the fluid from draining out?

Thanks for any advice on any of this.
ihaveavibe

Re: Brake line fitting

Post by ihaveavibe »