Getting a bad vibe! Input needed.

Discuss any problems, warranty, repair, or replacement issues you are having with your Vibe & Matrix
njohnson

Getting a bad vibe! Input needed.

Post by njohnson »

Hello all, figured i would go to you all for some time sensitive help, your input would be greatly appreciated.
A few days ago I purchased a 2003 vibe with 130k miles on it with the intention of replacing my 08 civic hybrid for various reasons.

Everything operates smoothly, but there are symptoms that point to otherwise. After buying it a friend of mine pointed out a solid cake of carbon buildup on my exhaust pipe. I'm no car expert, but I know that's not good. I inspected the engine air filter and found it was very dirty with holes around the edges with a singed look. My mpg before replacing the filter was approx 28.8 with about 150 miles of 100% highway driving, which seems low. To boot a check engine light came on saying the car is operating at too low of a temp.

So my question to you is this, do I keep it and just do some much overdue maintenance on the vehicle? Or is the risk of significant damages to high and should I return it? Paid $2600 for it and the cosmetic list is as follows:

Various scratches and dents to the hood
Center console hinge broken
Also missing a plastic cover under the shifter
Plate light is out
No remote for locks
2 bad door checks
Passenger door lock doesn't work with key
Same for the trunk
Derf

Re: Getting a bad vibe! Input needed.

Post by Derf »

Various scratches and dents to the hood - Are they big, or just light scratches? The hoods are known to chip easily, as long as there is no rust, could hold for a while
Center console hinge broken - replacements on ebay, as long as the bottom console plastic is still good. http://www.ebay.com/itm/03-08-Pontiac-V ... J~&vxp=mtr
Also missing a plastic cover under the shifter - replacements are available
Plate light is out - easy fix, could even upgrade to LED