screw in tire...possible to patch/plug? - photos included

Discuss any problems, warranty, repair, or replacement issues you are having with your Vibe & Matrix
justoffthecoast

screw in tire...possible to patch/plug? - photos included

Post by justoffthecoast »

I've been losing about 10psi/week on my rear passenger tire, so I took it in to NTB this morning to get a patch. They told me they couldn't patch it because it's too close to the sidewall. I'm no tire expert, but it looks to me like there's a solid inch or more between the screw and the sidewall. These are also the same guys that mounted a directional tire backwards for me, so I tend to be skeptical of anything they say.http://freshzive.com/misc/tire.JPGhttp: ... ire3.JPGIs this feasible to patch? What are the odds that another mechanic would do it for me? Has anyone had success with do-it-yourself kits, and if so, what do you recommend?
star_deceiver

Re: screw in tire...possible to patch/plug? - photos included (justoffthecoast)

Post by star_deceiver »

That should be a simple 10 minute job for any tire shop. Take it somewhere else, especially if they can't figure out which way the direction arrow goes...
2019 Ram 3500 4x4 CCSB srw 8HP75
2016 Ram 3500 4x4 RCLB Dually w/stick (traded in - 05/10/19)
2012 Chevy Silverado 1500 Cheyenne 4x4 (Traded in - 03/30/16)
2009 Vibe. (Traded in - 12/12/12)
Whitegts

Re: screw in tire...possible to patch/plug? - photos included (justoffthecoast)

Post by Whitegts »

I have been plugging my tires for years now. I have never had a failure doing this. I just buy the one kit you can get at any auto parts store or even wal-mart. There is plenty of how to's on the net. And yes that should have been plugged by them, it doesn't look to close. Thats kinda why I started doing it myself since they would always try to sell me a new tire instead of fixing it.
2004 Moonstone Base A/T
lovemyraffe

Post by lovemyraffe »