Tire pressure sensor...

Ontario
User avatar
metaxa44
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:29 am
Location: Old Markham , Ontario

Tire pressure sensor...

Postby metaxa44 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:27 pm

Hello Everyone,

Not really sure about this tire pressure sensor...
If I get a different rim it might not have a sensor????
I am looking for rims but it might be a used one in good shape...
Is that something I should install after???
What happens if I have no sensor , just a light will be on all the time???
What do most of you do???

Thanks..


User avatar
Gekko
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Gekko » Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:00 am

I am a gm mechanic.
The TPMs (or tire pressure sensors) are little sensors built into the valve stems on each rim except the spare. Now... if you have steel rims... what you can do is take them out of your steel rims and get them installed into your aftermarket wheels. And if you save you steel rims for say.. winter tires. just put regular rubber valve stems into them. In Vibes... they are individually programed into the cars computer with their each own specific code. So if you go buy new TPMs. they will have to be programed into the computer. And the ones in the rims now will be invalid. So if you take the ones out of your rims and put them into your aftermarket wheels. they will work for that. and if you put winter tires on your steel rims and drive on those for the month of winter.. you will have the dumby light on until you put the summer wheels back on and reset the light. This is what alot of people do when they have two sets of rims/wheels. Any more questions.. ask away.
Greg - Gekko
2003 Pontiac Vibe base 1zz-fe auto
Image

User avatar
Houston
Posts: 776
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:04 am

Re: (Gekko)

Postby Houston » Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:51 am

Quote, originally posted by Gekko »
So if you take the ones out of your rims and put them into your aftermarket wheels. they will work for that. and if you put winter tires on your steel rims and drive on those for the month of winter.. you will have the dumby light on until you put the summer wheels back on and reset the light. This is what alot of people do when they have two sets of rims/wheels.

This is what I did. It's no problem ignoring that light during the winter. If the light being on bothers you, put black tape over it.


2009 Base 2.4L with a few add-ons.


User avatar
star_deceiver
Posts: 5798
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:49 pm
Location: Airdrie, AB

Re: Tire pressure sensor... (metaxa44)

Postby star_deceiver » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:28 am

My steel rims have the sensors... the summer tires/rims have none. So I get the dummy light during the nicer months. It's pretty easy to ignore.
2016 Ram 3500 4x4 Diesel RCLB Dually w/stick
2012 Chevy Silverado 1500 Cheyenne 4x4 (Traded in - 03/30/16)
2009 Vibe. (Traded in - 12/12/12)

Image

User avatar
tpollauf
Posts: 3210
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: Tire pressure sensor... (star_deceiver)

Postby tpollauf » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:44 am

Question. How do you determine WHICH sensor is causing the dash light to come on? All four tires are 30 psi or more yet ONE of them is obviously malfunctioning. This just started over the weekend while driving on the freeway. We did recently have a slow leak repaired (leaking at the rim) so it is possible that when they repaired this something got bumped or jarred? Open for suggestions. Thanks
Image
"everything is modifiable"

User avatar
star_deceiver
Posts: 5798
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:49 pm
Location: Airdrie, AB

Re: Tire pressure sensor... (tpollauf)

Postby star_deceiver » Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:42 pm

Quote, originally posted by tpollauf »
How do you determine WHICH sensor is causing the dash light to come on?

Get a new tire gauge. I have one that reads 5psi low... needless to say, it's not in the car.

Inflate them to 35psi or more and reset the light! Many people forget to reset the light and don't drive far enough for it to reset on its own.

2016 Ram 3500 4x4 Diesel RCLB Dually w/stick
2012 Chevy Silverado 1500 Cheyenne 4x4 (Traded in - 03/30/16)
2009 Vibe. (Traded in - 12/12/12)

Image

User avatar
tpollauf
Posts: 3210
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Toledo/Oregon, Port Clinton Ohio
Contact:

Re: Tire pressure sensor... (star_deceiver)

Postby tpollauf » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:20 pm

Quote, originally posted by star_deceiver »

Get a new tire gauge. I have one that reads 5psi low... needless to say, it's not in the car.


I wish it were that simple Test gauge is good. I have TWO of them and they are both within 1psi of each other. Plus when I checked tires on my wife's G8GT the numbers were dead on with what the car's computer displays (a nice feature on that car ... shows actual individual tire pressure on all four tires!) Also I did add some air to where ALL tires are 35 psi. I'm sticking with my original theory that maybe the shop "bumped" something when they repaired the slow leak last week. That's why I wish there was a way to determine which sensor/tire is setting the alarm off.

Image
"everything is modifiable"


Return to “Canada - Ontario”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest