Aftermarket Cruise Control

Pontiac, GM SPO (Service Parts Organization) & TRD (Toyota Racing Development) discussions
DC3

Aftermarket Cruise Control

Post by DC3 »

This afternoon we picked up an almost-new 2007 base Vibe. I've been driving cars for 60 years and buying them for 40 but somehow I let one slip by me this time. I did not realize 'til I was driving away from the dealer's that my car has no cruise control! I just assumed it did. How much difficulty is involved in retro-fitting cruise on a 5-speed?DC3
zionzr2

Re: Aftermarket Cruise Control (DC3)

Post by zionzr2 »

Welcome to our Vibedom!I believe the '05 to '08 models w DBW just needed the stalk and plug it in.The '03s and '04 needed much more work as they were not DBW.A SEARCH will yield additional help!
DC3

Re: Aftermarket Cruise Control (zionzr2)

Post by DC3 »

I appreciate your comment, Bill, but being a newbie about Vibes, I'm not sure what DBW means...please fill me in, if you will. One reason I bought the Vibe was for fuel economy and cruise control would surely help in that regard. Please...anyone...illuminate me on DBW!!dc3
kunkstyle

Post by kunkstyle »

Drive by Wire. It's the same as e-gas. It eliminates the mechanical link between the accelerator pedal and the throttle, and is controlled electronically instead.
Kunkstyle's Garage:2006 AWD Pontiac VibeInfinity/Rockford/Kenwood Audio, CAI, Cupholder LED's, Keyless Entry Mod2000 Porsche 911 C2Kenwood Audio, Ultimate Cupholders, DRL's, 0-60 in 4.9 seconds.
nygiantzz1

Post by nygiantzz1 »

DBW= Drive by Wire. There is no throttle cable, just a sensor and spring behind the gas pedal. Your Vibe is pre wired for cruise, you need to buy the stalk and install it in the steering column. The harness is inside the column.
DC3

Re: Aftermarket Cruise Control (nygiantzz1)

Post by DC3 »