'09 Clutch Part Questions

1.8-liter VVTL-i (2ZZ-GE) and VVT-i (1ZZ-FE) engine, transmission, exhaust, intake, and performance tuning discussions
Vibe09LiveLong

'09 Clutch Part Questions

Post by Vibe09LiveLong »

Hi Everyone. I'm new to GenVibe posting, although I have been an avid reader over the years of these forums.

I have an '09 2.4L FWD Vibe, which believe it or not, is now going on 10yrs/240K km, and my Clutch just died. I'm not complaining toooo much as this is my first major mechanical issue in this time. Thanks to all the previous posts and conversations about replacing the Clutch I've decided to go DIY as overall this mainly seems to need Time and Patients. And I would like to get a few more years from this Vibe. Also, my Dealer-Shop is asking $4-5K for their labor and over priced parts. This is the clutch and a couple other items (Sway Bar Links). Based on the postings on GenVibe I found RockAuto to be the best for pricing and also delivery time. Which means I can price this replacement out at under $1K (which includes the charge of being towed home).

What I need help with is specific to the Flywheel. Most postings deal with pre-'09 GT engines, or the 1.8L version, and do include parts, but not many post were found for the '09 2.4L. Based on what I have been able to figure out the 1.8L Flywheel is ofcourse different from the 2.4L, so I did not order the 1.8L version. RockAuto does not have this part listed for the 2.4L so I have a few questions I'm hoping you other Vibe owners may be able to clarify for me.

- RockAuto does have a Flywheel under the '09 2.4L Matrix [LUK LFW245]
-- Visually this 'looks' the same as what my Vibe would use, but is this OK?
- Comparing on RockAuto the Flywheel for the 1.8L engine of the Matrix and 1.8L Vibe, those are the same part # and look the same [AMS AUTOMOTIVE 167154], which leads me to believe that YES I can use that one listed for the 2.4L Matrix on my Vibe.