2009 Clutch Pedal Slow to Come Up Last Few Inches

1.8-liter VVTL-i (2ZZ-GE) and VVT-i (1ZZ-FE) engine, transmission, exhaust, intake, and performance tuning discussions
DocDoug

2009 Clutch Pedal Slow to Come Up Last Few Inches

Post by DocDoug »

2009 Vibe, 135K, 1.8, Manual Trans, Original Owner

Over the last 10,000 miles / 10 months, the clutch pedal has become sticky and slow to return in the up position, for the last two-three inches. In other words, when I release the clutch pedal, there is slight delay, before it taps the bottom of my foot. I have been driving sticks since 1984 and have never had this in any of my vehicles. Initially, I noticed this in temps below 40 degrees, but now it happens at most all temps. I will confess, I have never flushed the brake / clutch fluid. I have noticed a very slight throw-out bearing chirp (most people don't hear it) when temps are above 80' and the clutch pedal is released.

Before I start trouble shooting, I was hoping to find the potential problem listed in a forum. I can't seem to find anyone with this similar problem.... having said that, we manual shifters are a rarity these days. Some things come to mind: Bad clutch slave cylinder, old nasty brake fluid, bad return spring somewhere (if that exists), or an internal transmission / pressure plate issue.......

Unrelated to my current problem, below are a few items that I have replaced and the maintenance over the last 10 years of ownership. Unless under warranty, I complete all repairs myself.