Transmission destroyed today

1.8-liter VVTL-i (2ZZ-GE) and VVT-i (1ZZ-FE) engine, transmission, exhaust, intake, and performance tuning discussions
jayoldschool

Transmission destroyed today

Post by jayoldschool »

04 Vibe, just under 100k miles. Manual. It's been getting noisy for almost a year. Today, less than a mile from my home, the trans started to make REALLY bad noises. Clunks, whirring, etc. Something broke apart in there and chunks are circulating about. After coasting to a stop, I had no 1st or second. Managed to shove it into 3rd, and slip/rev it to get going. I had another 20 miles to go to get to work, though. Eventually made it. Can't believe that it didn't grenade completely. Did get it to go into 1st and 2nd eventually.

Not going to risk driving it, I'm a teacher and have access to the full auto shop. Found a used 07 with 60k on it for 650 (Canadian), so I'll install that next week.

Not a great start to my day.
lannvouivre

Re: Transmission destroyed today

Post by lannvouivre »

It was probably whatever bearing is prone to failure if it was a 5-speed.
"If you don't love me at my diddliest, you don't deserve me at my doodliest." - User ktluvscricket of reddit
jayoldschool

Post by jayoldschool »

Yes, it will be the terrible bearing cage on the crappy five speed that should have been recalled years ago. Spoke to my trusted yard, guy told me "those are really bad transmission! We get multiple calls for them everyday!" Not excited about putting another bad time bomb in it. Also, the place misquoted the trans, it's 900! I've found complete cars for 800-1000. I may go that way if I can drive them first to test the trans.

Have we ever come up with a definitive answer on a straight swap of the 6 speed? I know it has been done. Some say it's a straight bolt in, same axles, etc. Others have used different parts. What's the deal? I'll put up with the higher revs to get reliability...