1zz performance mods that are good for mileage?

1.8-liter VVTL-i (2ZZ-GE) and VVT-i (1ZZ-FE) engine, transmission, exhaust, intake, and performance tuning discussions
1siksob

1zz performance mods that are good for mileage?

Post by 1siksob »

Hi folks! Thanks for welcoming me to the site. I just picked up an 03 vibe with 180k miles. The previous owner loved the car. It's the nicest car I've ever owned as I am a glutten for punishment Saab 900 owner for 20 years now. I still have the turbo car for runs to home Depot and just general public enemy type noise violating behavior. The vibe is my bmx dad wagon. I've been an auto technician for 20 years now, and have seen many power adders that actually improve performance AND mileage. This little 1zz works extra hard with 2 bikes, my son and I, and the ac running. It feels like a remap that would change shift points without me burying my foot would help. And I imagine a t-body spacer, intake and headers when tuned would allow things to flow more efficiently. As a noob to this car I feel I should pick the brains of the vets on here for the right stuff. I'm not looking for 50 hp gains. Just a little help in the efficiency/pep department. I have seen over and over again in my years in the car buiz how sone fellas will brag about mileage increase with power adders, but they are just saying that out of some sense of guilt. I have a laptop and access to a dyno. What's the most? What's the best? Most reliable? Thanks all!
circuitsmith

Re: 1zz performance mods that are good for mileage?

Post by circuitsmith »

Change the thermostat to make sure it quickly gets up to proper temp.
Run the tires 2-5 psi over (34-37psi).

The ECM on this car cannot be re-tuned, you'll need to replace it for $$$.
Non of the mods mentioned will "actually improve performance AND mileage".
I gained a little midrange torque by re-routing the intake from just behind the battery to near the lower grill for colder air intake, using the stock air filter.