Weak clutch in GT

1.8-liter VVTL-i (2ZZ-GE) and VVT-i (1ZZ-FE) engine, transmission, exhaust, intake, and performance tuning discussions
Vibenator

Weak clutch in GT

Post by Vibenator »

Hi everyone. I'm a new member here and would like to know if the slipping clutch on my '03 Vibe GT (27,000 miles) is common or not. I've been driving a clutch for almost 40 years and have never had a problem. My wife drives the car occasionally, but she knows the proper clutch technique. I bought the car at around 17,000 miles a year ago. I have never had a clutch problem before with my BMWs, Volvos, Mitsubishis, and Dodges. Is the clutch a weak point in the GT or am I doing something wrong?
2002 Chrysler T&C Minivan, 2003 Pontiac Vibe, 2004 Chrysler Crossfire
lovemyraffe

Re: Weak clutch in GT (Vibenator)

Post by lovemyraffe »

Welcome!!! I know there are others on here who have had similar problems with their clutches burning early. Good luck.
March 2011 MOTMFebruary 2010 MOTM My GenVibe garage
BlueCrush

Post by BlueCrush »

Welcome to GenVibe! The weak GT clutch is a common problem. Do a search for "clutch" and it will bring up tons of threads for you to view.
My Fleet:
'15 Ford Fusion AWD Titanium 2.0 Tutbo
'14 Lincoln MXZ AWD 2.0 Turbo
'14 Nissan Pathfinder AWD SL
'05 Pontiac Vibe AWD
northvibe

Post by northvibe »

yeah the GT stock has a goofy clutch and I hear it wears out rather quickly.... But the aftermarket support for the replacement is very good. Some GT members should post up with their recommendations and storys im sure
ITcar

Re: (northvibe)

Post by ITcar »

im at 70,000 in my GT and no signs of slipping, i guess im fortunate
Petrucci914

Post by Petrucci914 »