Hi all, glad to be part of the community!

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
g0ldrush1958

Hi all, glad to be part of the community!

Post by g0ldrush1958 »

I'm from South-Shore Montréal, Canada. I'm a mechanic and know every corner of the Vibe. If I can help anyone to solve problem on their Vibe, It will make me happy.

Regards!

Denis
Caretaker

Re: Hi all, glad to be part of the community!

Post by Caretaker »

every corner, huh?? wow, did you just ask for it......... :lol: :lol:

I'll start. 2nd gen Vibe with the 1.8 liter Corolla engine. Consuming oil at a rate of one quart per 1000 miles. Perfect for a Maserati, but not so good for a Corolla. I am currently doing Seafoam into the engine 200 miles before my oil changes, and adding one quart of Lucas oil in with my fresh oil changes. Is there any hope of of unclogging the oil return holes at the base of the piston, which seems to be the consensus on what is wrong with these engines? If your answer is no, there is no hope, how long can I expect a catalytic converter to live under the strain of burning off all these lovely quarts of blow-by oil?

Ironically, the car is running fantastically at 125,000 miles and passed its most recent California smog check. Thank you for your generous offer to assist us.
g0ldrush1958

Post by g0ldrush1958 »

Hummm... what is the pistons compression so far?
Caretaker

Post by Caretaker »