edit

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
mickybluesb

edit

Post by mickybluesb »

edit
Last edited by mickybluesb on Thu Jun 30, 2022 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andrewclaus

Re: I am a Vibe AWD noob,

Post by andrewclaus »

Definitely clean the MAF sensor. Get the right cleaner and follow instructions you can find online. It's an easy tune-up item. I did mine a few weeks ago and as I recall I only needed a screwdriver to get it out and it took a few minutes.

Also run some fuel injector cleaner, like BG-44K or Seafoam. It might actually be fuel-starved.

Replace the PCV valve too, another easy tune-up item.

Hopefully those will solve the power problem. Some here have modified the air intake and there are a few recent threads about it, and sometimes the MAF gets messed up I think. I'm a noob here too so I can't help too much. And I'm not going for your prize, no way.

I'm not familiar with the Vibe AWD, but I doubt your idea is feasible. You may really mess up the transaxle inputs. Edit: I just did a little research and found out the AWD has a viscous coupling rear differential, so it may indeed be possible to disconnect the rear axle.

Check tire condition and pressures, maybe over-inflate a little (36 psi) to help with fuel economy.

Are you good with pulling dash trim? That's probably what you'll need to do to fix the lighter. I found this link here, helpful for some repairs: http://madstyle1972.com/Repair/

If the temp gauge stays steady within the normal range and the cabin heat is good, the thermostat is probably okay. Mine runs just below middle all the time. That depends so much on the tolerance of factory resistors, etc. If I suspected a problem, I'd use my non-contact infrared thermometer to check the actual engine block temp at the sensor at the water pump.