trans cooler

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
tpar1220

trans cooler

Post by tpar1220 »

i tried searching here and other places online but not finding anything. i am wanting to add an external trans cooler to my 09 vibe with auto. i need to know which lines are "from trans to rad" and "from rad to trans". i tried feeling em after driving it to hopefully feel which is hotter but couldn't tell as both were hot.

youtube is usually pretty good for this kinda thing but didn't show anything.
lannvouivre

Re: trans cooler

Post by lannvouivre »

Try disconnecting the lines from the radiator, putting their outlets in drain pans, and having someone else watch which one pushes fluid out while you start it up.
"If you don't love me at my diddliest, you don't deserve me at my doodliest." - User ktluvscricket of reddit
tad2much

Post by tad2much »

i have no experience to contribute here, sorry. But just wanted to say the project sounds interesting. Why install a transmission cooler? I assume it's good for the transmission, but does the vibe have transmission issues as it is?

When you do it, take lots of pictures for a how-to write up! :D
2005 Vibe, base, salsa red.
Power windows/locks.
Eclipse AVN 4403 head unit w/ integrated Tomtom navi.
Salsa Guy

Post by Salsa Guy »

Normally it's the lower that is Rad to Tranny. On my Trix and Lexus it is. I'd say disconnect the lines, put them in a bucket, start it up and see what happens. Worst case is that you'll need to add some fluid.
05 Matrix XR 4WD and 03 Vibe GT
"If you want Government to solve your problems, then you are the problem!" BMSR
Trix MODS: SRI w/ AEM filter, Vibrant/Magnaflow Cat-back, Alutec Lightweight Crank Pulley
GT MODS: Cosmo SRI, DRL, Auto Stop
vibenvy

Post by vibenvy »

This thread may help.

You may also want to contact beemerphile1. I know he has a transmission cooler installed on his 2009 1.8L Vibe that he tows a small trailer with.