Totaled 2003 Vibe - Questions

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
romeroom

Totaled 2003 Vibe - Questions

Post by romeroom »

Today one of my children rear ended another car and pretty much destroyed the front end. It is not drivable. I belive there is frame damage. Car has around 180k miles.

I live in Grand Rapids Michigan. Rest of car is in good shape.

Rather than just junk the car right away, I would like some suggestions from the forum. This is my first time dealing with this.
2003 AWD Vibe, 153K miles.
lannvouivre

Re: Totaled 2003 Vibe - Questions

Post by lannvouivre »

Your insurance will declare it a total loss, probably. I don't think you'll really have a choice, I'm sorry to say, but you could use the money to purchase another Vibe (or something else if you want a change of pace). Bodywork is very expensive even without straightening the frame. For example, painting a single panel can cost $4-500. That's just for one fender or the hood, just the paint, not even replacing the panel or also pulling a dent.

Without seeing the damage, I can kind of guesstimate some costs. If the engine is ruined, it's $1100+ used (I haven't looked it up in a while; it will likely be more than the 2WD since it's rarer and there are minor block differences-external). The transmission might be $200-600 since it's the AWD version. I actually see a couple "near" me that are $200 listed on car-part.com but I suspect they aren't actually from AWD or 4WD vehicles.

I'm not trying to be a Debbie-Downer, it's just very expensive to make these repairs and unless there's considerable sentimental value in the vehicle, it won't be worth it for you financially.
"If you don't love me at my diddliest, you don't deserve me at my doodliest." - User ktluvscricket of reddit
romeroom

Post by romeroom »

I have PLPD insurance. I don't thin the insurance company will have much to do with it other than raise my rates.