New '03 Vibe owner

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
vtvibe

New '03 Vibe owner

Post by vtvibe »

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and to my car--

It's an '03 base model 5 speed manual. Had 141K on it when I bought it, and had already had the bearings and trans replaced.

It has an aftermarket CD player in it that I don't like (clock doesn't seem to work, and I want/need an AUX input), so my first learning project will be seeing if I can replace that on my own...I'm a novice on this front but I can learn.

Bought it in Virginia and drove it home to Vermont where it has a head start on rusting. I had been driving a '96 Accord for years that I haven't been able to get inspected this past year due to all sorts of rust issues, especially the body/frame. So far I seem to be getting similar gas mileage to my old car (also manual trans), but I'm hoping as I get to know it more I'll find the sweet spots for shifting and it will get even better. Right now it's mud season and I live up a steep hill, with huge sticky soupy ruts in the dirt (mud) road, so it's been taking a lot more to get me home!

I'm looking forward to using this forum as a resource so I can take better care of my car, and hopefully get so I can do some of the basic maintenance myself.

Cheers!
Jane
Attachments
It snowed the day after I bought it...I don't have snow tires yet...
It snowed the day after I bought it...I don't have snow tires yet...
100_3872.jpg (56.02 KiB) Viewed 1128 times
00D0D_3hKOXqhsJtK_600x450.jpg
00D0D_3hKOXqhsJtK_600x450.jpg (51.85 KiB) Viewed 1128 times
WhgVibe

Re: New '03 Vibe owner

Post by WhgVibe »

Welcome to Gen Vibe...it's a great resource. As for your radio replacement, I use Crutchfield for everything and for any car. They set you up for success by giving you all the expert advice and resources you need. Enjoy your Vibe!
tpollauf

Post by tpollauf »