melted headlight harness?

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
ramenboy...

melted headlight harness?

Post by ramenboy... »

ok, so i thought it would just be a 5 minute bulb replacement, but when i popped the hood and removed the rubber housing, i noticed that the bulb is fine, but the connection is melted. hmm... i've been running these hyper white xenon bulbs for about 9 months with no problems whatsoever. before that, i'd had cool blues and silverstars that were lasting 5-6 months, so i'd become pretty quick at swapping out the bulbs.anyways, so now what? do i have to replace the whole harness? or can i replace just the connection and maybe go back to a stock bulb? is replacing the harness difficult?thanx in advance for you help, folks
de-badged o4 vibe
tein s-techs | 17" msr 105 wheels | 235 45 17 nexen n7000
weapon-r short ram (thanx BC!) | typeR sport pedals | LED 3rd brake
o2 triumph speed four
ou.grizzly

Re: melted headlight harness? (ramenboy...)

Post by ou.grizzly »

Contact a Toyota or Pontiac Body Shop... Explain to them that your vehicle was in an accident and the connect to the headlight was sheered off. They should have the wiring harness/tail that can be connected to the rest of the harness. If not, hit a junk yard and bring a long a pair of wire cutters...
2009 Jet Black 2.4L Auto / Fogs / 17" Alum / Clear Bra / Camry Leather Shift Knob / GT Rear Spoiler
2013 Polished Metallic Honda CR-V EX-L Navi
ramenboy...

Post by ramenboy... »

hey mikethanx for the quick reply! then is it just a matter of cutting off the bad one and 'splicing' the new one on in place?
de-badged o4 vibe
o2 triumph speed four
keithvibe

Re: (ramenboy...)

Post by keithvibe »

yep simple as that ... after you disconnect your battery of course
2010 Vibe & member of the yeargarage Email me if you need to talk to me, click my siggy and send the email threw the contact page.
Digger

Re: (keithvibe)

Post by Digger »