Dealing with an obnoxious guy with a Matrix.

General discussions about the Pontiac Vibe & Toyota Matrix. New members, introduce yourself here!
Cougar Vibe

Dealing with an obnoxious guy with a Matrix.

Post by Cougar Vibe »

So this morning I'm out running errands and pull into Mobil to fuel up. I'm just getting started when this Matrix pulls up on the other side of the pump. Guy gets out, puts the nozzle latch on, and proceeds to walk around to my side of the pump...checking out my Vibe. Now my Vibe is an economy wagon with AWD and snow tires...it is not, nor will it ever be, a tunermobile. I would think that most people would probably realize that by things such as mud flaps, Fisher-Price sunshade, no window tint, toddler seat, etc. However, this guy doesn't pick up on the obvious...So, instead of saying "Hi" or asking me what my opinion is of my car, he says "Should have bought a Matrix." My response is to do the "excuse me"-thing, as if I haven't heard him correctly and why is he talking to me without asking permission. He repeats himself, but points to my wheel covers this time. You see, I've got Toyota wheel covers on my snow wheels (duh, another indicator buddy that this is a commuter car); so of course, I say something like "Oh yeah, I picked those up on Ebay for cheap because I didn't like running with just the steel wheels. His response was "Oh, I thought you were just a wannabe." (removed)? It's not like I grafted one of those Rolls Royce front ends onto the front of an old VW Bug. I mean, come on...his car is a Toyota Matrix, an economy car, a nice commuter vehicle that people buy because more-often-than-not, they can't step up to a finer car. It's not an Avalon, for Christ's sake.Now I know this is the point where I should have said something to the effect like "Yeah, Scion has really taken the wind out you Matrix guys' sails (and sales). Do you feel like an orphan?" Of course, I didn't...I just told him I'm very happy with my car and that I think Vibe